History of Football: FIFA World Cup - 1934

The second FIFA football World Cup tournament took place in Italy from 27th May to 10th June 1934 and was the first for which teams had to qualify to take part.

The holders, Uruguay, refused to participate in the 1934 World Cup and thus did not defend their title – the only World Cup holders to ever fail to do so (this was in retaliation for Italy’s refusal to travel to Uruguay for the inaugural 1930 tournament).

The first player to miss a penalty in World Cup finals was Brazil’s Valdemar de Brito in Brazil’s 3-1 loss to Spain on 27 May 1934. The 1934 World Cup Finals were the only ones in which Brazil did not win any match.

The final was held in the Stadio Nazionale PNF in Rome on 10th June 1934 in front of a crowd of 45,000. It was won by Italy who beat Czechoslovakia, 2.1, after extra time. This was thus the first World Cup final to go into extra time and it also provided Europe with its first winners. Italy’s scorers were Raimundo “Mumo” Orsi and Angelo Schiavio; Antonín Puč scored for Czechoslovakia.

The Golden Boot (‘adidas Golden Shoe’ since 1982) award for most goals scored in the tournament was won by Oldřich Nejedlý of Czechoslovakia with 5 goals.

Winners: Italy

Runners-up: Czechoslovakia

The Football Ground is a content aggregating site and is in no way endorsed, authorised or licensed by any of the third-party sites being linked to

You can contact us at any time via our Contact us page

Share this page