History of Football: FIFA World Cup - 1962

The seventh FIFA football World Cup tournament took place in Chile from 30th May to 17th June 1962. Chile was the third country from South America to host the finals after Uruguay in 1930 and Brazil twenty years later.

Preparations for the tournament had been disrupted by the Valdivia, or ‘Great Chilean Earthquake,’ in 1960 - the most powerful earthquake ever recorded – but the tournament went ahead on schedule with the building of new World Cup stadiums being critical to the country’s economic regeneration.

The competition was played against a background of violence with the first-round match between Chile and Italy (which Chile won 2–0) becoming known as the ‘Battle of Santiago.’ Pele’s tournament ended through injury in only Brazil’s second match of the tournament but Brazil were inspired throughout by Amarildo – ‘The White Pele’ – Zagallo, Vava and right winger Garrincha, or ‘Little bird’ as he was nicknamed by the French newspaper, L’Equipe.

Goal difference was used for the first time in World Cup finals to determine teams’ placings in the Group stages (previously this had required play-off matches). This was also the last World Cup tournament to not be televised live in Europe. The Telstar satellite arrived just afterwards.

The final was held in the Estadio Nacional in Santiago on 17th June 1962 in front of a crowd of 68,679. Brazil beat Czechoslovakia 3.1 to retain the title they had won in Sweden four years earlier, becoming only the second team in World Cup football history after Italy in 1938 to do so. Brazil also became the third team to win the World Cup twice, after Uruguay and Italy. Brazil’s scorers were Amarildo, Zito and Vavá; Josef Masopust scored for Czechoslovakia.

Having also scored in the 1958 World Cup final, Vavá became the first player to score in the final of two different World Cup tournaments and the only player in football history to score in two consecutive World Cup finals.

The Golden Boot (‘adidas Golden Shoe’ since 1982) award for most goals scored in the tournament was shared by 6 players who each scored 4 goals: Flórián Albert, Valentin Ivanov, Garrincha, Vavá, Dražan Jerković and, Leonel Sánchez for Hungary, Soviet Union, Brazil, Brazil, Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and Chile respectively. The only other time the award has been shared was in 1994 (Oleg Salenko, and Hristo Stoichkov).

Winners: Brazil

Runners-up: Czechoslovakia

Share this page